CFD 交易

CFD 交易
CFD 是什么?

CFD 交易
是什么
和 如何运作?

CFD(差价合约)是一种流行的衍生工具。衍生品指的是金融工具,能够让您在全球市场上交易资产,而无需实际拥有它。常见的衍生工具有期权、期货或互换合约。

有了 CFD,您就无需实际资产的所有权。相反,您交换的是基础资产从合约开始到结束的差价。这个截止日期或合同到期日不是固定的,这使得 CFD 不同于其他形式的衍生产品,如期货。您的合同可以是短期的,也可以是长期的

交易 CFD 的一大好处是,您可以推测任何方向的价格变动,不论是上涨还是下跌。您的收益或损失取决于您的预测是否准确。有了 CFD,您可以交易各种各样的资产,包括货币、股票、指数、加密货币(包括比特币)和大宗商品。

在尝试之前,您必须了解 CFD 是如何运作的。

Video: CFD Trading
Explained

How Do CFDs Work?

要了解整个过程,您首先需要了解保证金交易的概念。杠杆 CFD 可以让您获得广泛的价格变动敞口,而无需投资总交易价值。这意味着,对比交易账户中的资金,杠杆可以让您获得更大的市场敞口。

Trade CFDs - What is
CFD Margin?

当您开始交易 CFD 时,您需要开设一个“保证金账户”,推荐在受监管的经纪商开设。该经纪商能够通过提供杠杆,让您以更大的头寸交易。这意味着,您有机会以少量的资本投资放大收益。但是,切记,杠杆也会放大损失。因此,请理智选择杠杆。

为了维持您的保证金账户,账户中必须始终存在固定的最低资本金额,以作为潜在损失的缓冲。这就是所谓的“初始保证金”或“存款保证金”。它是您从经纪商处所借资金和您头寸全部交易价值之间的差额。

如果您出现损失,且账户中的资金低于所规定的水平,经纪商将发出“保证金通知”。这意味着您需要在账户中存入所需的金额,称为“维持保证金”。

假设 XYZ 公司的股价为每股 $130。您决定以这个价格购买 10,000 股。现在,如果您必须支付这个合同的总价值,成本将达到:

$130 x 10,000 = $130,000。

通过使用杠杆,您能够以低资本投资获得相同数量的股票。如果要求的保证金是交易总额的 5%,您只需在交易账户中支付每 CFD $6.50 的保证金。

因此,要求的总保证金为
(0.05 x 130,000) = $6,500。

这远远少于 $130,000,但您获得了同样水平的敞口,就像您直接购买了股票一样。而且,您还能够获得 100% 的收益。当然,另一方面,您也将承受 100% 的损失。

保证金的百分比取决于您进行交易的国家。不同的监管机构对杠杆有不同的限制。这些限制的制定是为了保护交易者在波动加剧时免受重大损失。

“做多”或“做空”CFD
交易

当您交易 CFD 时,您可以推测市场价格会上涨还是下跌。如果您认为未来价格会上涨,就买入基础资产,也就是“做多”。但是,如果您认为未来价格会下跌,就卖出资产,也就是“做空”。您仍然可以兑换开始价和结束价之间的差额,但您也有机会从价格下跌中获益

杠杆 CFD 交易
示例

假设您想交易 CFD,其中的基础资产是 US30,即“道琼斯工业平均指数”。让我们假设 US30 的交易价格为:

买入/卖出点差

现在,“买入”为卖出价。这就是您卖出资产的价格。两者中较高者为“卖出价”即买入价格;就是您买入资产的价格。两个价格之间的价差为“点差”。这就是您的交易成本。点差的大小取决于您资产的流动性和您所选择的经纪商。例如,某家经纪商可以从大量的流动性提供商处获得报价,就能为您提供最小的买卖点差。

现在,回到交易本身,您决定购买 5 份 US30 合同,因为您认为 US30 的价格在未来会上涨。您的保证金为 1%。这意味着,您需要将总头寸价值的 1% 存入您的保证金账户。

现在,在接下来的一个小时里,如果价格变动到 22100.00/22112.00,您就做了一笔赚钱的交易。您能够以 22100.00 的 US30 现价卖出后平仓。

在这种情况下,价格是朝您所期望的方向发展。但是,如果价格下降,与您的预期背道而驰,您就会面临损失。这种对价格变动和由此产生的利润/损失的持续评估每天都在发生。相应地,这将导致您的初始保证金出现净回报(正/负)。在您的自由股本(账户余额+利润/损失)低于保证金要求(1105)的亏损情况下,经纪商将发出保证金通知。如果您未能存入这笔钱,而市场进一步对您造成损失,在您的自由股本下降到初始保证金的50%时,合约将按当前市场价格成交,这就是所谓的“强制平仓”。

注意到微小的价差是如何提供交易机会了吗?这种微小的价差被称为“pip”,即“点值”。对于指数,1 pip 等于 1.0 的价格增量,也称为指数点。在外汇市场上,如上面的例子所示,它被用来表示货币价格中最小的价格增量。对于诸如 AUD/USD 的资产(包括美元),pip 表示小数点后第四位。但是,对于涉及日元的货币对,如 AUD/JPY,报价通常为小数点后 3 位。

这种对价格变动和由此产生的利润/损失的持续评估每天都在发生。相应地,这将导致您的初始保证金出现净回报(正/负)。如果您的初始保证金不够,经纪商将发出保证金通知。如果您无法存入资金,合同将会按照当前市场价关闭。这个过程叫做“市价结算”。

如果
US30 价格
您的多头头寸
可能盈利或亏损
上升 1% 22300.80/ 22312.80 USD 1044.00
下降 -1% 21859.20/ 21871.20 USD -1164.00

How to Hedge
Using CFDs?

现在,“买入”为卖出价。这就是您卖出资产的价格。两者中较高者为“卖出价”即买入价格;就是您买入资产的价格。两个价格之间的价差为“点差”。这就是您的交易成本。点差的大小取决于您资产的流动性和您所选择的经纪商。例如,某家经纪商可以从大量的流动性提供商处获得报价,就能为您提供最小的买卖点差。

CFD 交易的一个显著优势就是让您有机会以现有头寸对冲您的投资组合免受短期市场波动的影响。对冲是一种策略,当您想进行投资防范下行风险时,就可以采用它。您还可以通过限制收益来进行对冲。

因此,假设您有一个价值 AUD 150,000 的股票投资组合,包含 ASX 200 指数的主要股票。这些分成10份,每份 AUD 15,000。你可以拥有价值 AUD 15,000 的 Adelaide Brighton 股票和价值AUD 15,000 的 ANZ Banking Group Ltd 股票。

现在,如果您认为这两家公司可能会因为糟糕的盈利报告而出现短期股价下跌,您可以通过 CFD 做空它们来抵消一些潜在损失。

不是在公开市场上出售这些股票,而是购入 2 份 CFD,做空 Adelaide Brighton 和 ANZ Banking Group Ltd。建立这种对冲可能需要大约 10% 的市场敞口,即 AUD 3,000。

但是,为什么要选择 CFD 做空,而不是在价格下跌后,简单地卖出股票,然后再买入呢?选择 CFD 的原因包括:

  • 您在卖出股票后获得资本收益,需要纳税。这是可以避免的,除非您想一次性清空这些资产。在 CFD 交易中,您不需要支付印花税,交易成本将仅涉及保证金和点差。

  • 如果市场确实下跌,股票投资组合中的损失将被你的 CFD 空头头寸所抵消。

持有期

现在,每天收盘后,您账户中任何未平仓的 CFD 头寸都会产生持有成本。这取决于相应的持有利率,以及您的头寸方向;基于此,成本可以是负的,也可以是正的。持有成本是交易 CFD 的成本之一。

Start Trading Forex with a
Global Regulated Broker

How Do You Start
Trading CFDs?

Take a look at these
6 steps to start trading CFDs:

第1步 | |
Build Your Knowledge

如果您已经看到这一点,那就已经正在完成第 1 步。知识是您最宝贵的财富,您应该尽可能多地学习关于 CFD 的知识,了解如何交易它们。这包括理解基本的交易术语和概念,以及如何使用我们先进的在线交易平台。FP Markets 交易者中心博客是一个优秀的资源中心,里面有一系列的研究和教学材料。

第2步 | |
Open an FP Markets
Trading Account

在正规的 CFD 经纪商处注册和开设模拟账户真实账户,例如 FP Markets。自成立于2005年起,我们就深知交易者一直在寻求卓越的交易体验,并通过关注几大关键领域来满足他们的需求。关键领域:

  • 超低的点差: 得益于与顶级流动性提供商的良好关系,主要货币对的点差通常能够低至 0.0 pips。

  • 快速的执行: 我们在 NY4 Centre 的交易服务器通过光纤连接到我们的 ECN 网络和流动性提供商。这就确保了超快的执行和超低的延迟。

  • 先进的技术: 我们在技术领域的优势为使用自动交易策略(如 Expert Advisors (EAs) 和复制交易系统)的人提供理想条件。

  • 产品: 在 FP Markets,您可以交易外汇、股票、金属、指数、大宗商品和加密货币的 CFD。我们通过桌面和移动应用,在全球金融市场提供10,000多种可交易的 CFD 产品。更多了解 您能进行交易的产品

  • 客户服务: 我们很荣幸能够为客户提供屡获殊荣的客户支持。我们拥有专门的多语言客户支持团队,能够提供 7 天 24 小时的全天候服务。我们提供多种联系方式,包括 实时聊天、电话和邮箱。

第 3 步 |
Create a Trading Strategy

CFD 可以为您提供多种资产类别的敞口,所有这些都可在单一交易平台进行。在制定交易计划时,必须考虑以下几个因素:

  • 您希望交易的资产类别

  • 交易资本

  • 约定时间

  • 风险胃纳

  • 交易经验

制定适当的交易计划并坚持执行,对于遵守守则和实施良好的实时风险管理策略至关重要。FP Markets 提供一系列交易电子书网络研讨会,可以帮助您制定最适合自己的交易计划。

第 4 步 |
Fundamental and Technical
Analysis

通过市场分析,交易者能够发现波动的市场和潜在的交易机会。市场分析有两种方法, 基本面分析 技术分析。基本面分析涉及可能影响全球金融市场的地缘政治事件、经济数据发布和突发新闻事件。

而技术分析则包括使用市场数据来识别趋势和做出交易决策。通过使用技术指标,您可以对未来潜在的价格趋势和模式做出理智决策。交易平台(如 MetaTrader 4 和 MetaTrader 5)提供预装的指标和图表工具,可以帮助进行全面的市场分析。

第 5 步 |
Choose Your Trading Platform

多选择是 FP Markets 的主要优势之一。我们的交易平台包括 MetaTrader 4MetaTrader 5Iress 和我们自己的 FP Markets 移动交易应用。选择能够为您提供交易灵活性和稳定性的交易平台。我们所有的交易平台都提供了多种多样的工具,帮助进行市场分析和无缝执行交易。

第 6 步 | 风险管理

无论是在何种市场状况或头寸规模下,风险管理对每笔交易都至关重要。为了限制潜在损失,下面列出了您会用到的几种工具:

止损订单: 当市场达到某个价格水平时,智能执行止损订单能够让系统自动平仓。当市场恶化时,这可以最大限度地减少损失。

止盈订单: 一旦盈利达到了某一特定水平,止盈订单就会卖出您的头寸。这样能够保护头寸免受不必要的市场风险。

追踪止损: 如果市场对您有利,这将进一步推动您的止损,但一旦市场恶化,它就会平仓。这种订单可以防止您的头寸被过早平仓。

如需更深入地了解基本面和技术分析以及交易教学,请访问我们的交易者中心博客

Advantages of CFD
交易

宽泛的金融市场: 在 FP Markets 进行的 CFD交易能够让您参与世界各地最大的金融市场。我们的 CFD 产品包括超过 10,000 种可交易工具,涵盖外汇、股票、指数、金属、大宗商品和加密货币。这包括 USD/AUD 等货币对,以及涵盖苹果和亚马逊在内的一些全球最大公司的股票。

下跌市场中的交易: CFD 交易的一个独特特征就是它们为您提供了“做多”和“做空”的能力。在一般的金融市场中,交易只能“做多”,也只能从价格上涨中获利。而凭借 CFD 交易,您可以开设一个“空头头寸”,从价格下跌中获利。这就为交易者提供了额外的交易机会。

无印花税: 由于您不拥有基础资产,因此 CFD 交易就不会产生印花税。此外,通过使用杠杆,交易者能够使用保证金交易获得更大的敞口,从而有效地利用他们的资本。

杠杆: 提供了一种经济高效的投资方式,您只需存入交易总价值的一小部分(保证金)就可以建仓。所需保证金会因工具、流动性和其他因素而有所不同。

高效的对冲工具: CFD 交易的一个显著优势就是能够作为对冲工具使用。它可以用来对冲现有头寸的组合,抵御短期市场波动。对冲是 CFD 交易者使用的一种策略,而不是直接出售可能产生相关税收影响的其他工具中的股份。

镜像交易基础市场: CFD 旨在镜像模仿其基础市场的交易环境,包括价格。购买亚马逊股票 CFD 相当于购买在纳斯达克交易的亚马逊股票。

无固定期限: 与期权和期货等其他衍生品不同,CFD 没有到期日。您可以按照自己意愿持有 CFD,无论时间长短。

CFD 交易常见问题

谈到 CFD 交易,有三个数字需要考虑——“买入价”、“卖出价”和“点差”。“买入价”(卖出)是卖出价,通常显示在左边,而“卖出价”(买入)价通常更高,也就是您买入资产的价格。两种价格之间的价差就是“点差”,也就是交易成本。根据资产的流动性,点差可大可小。

开始交易
在几分钟内

立即开户

bullet 自动开仓与平仓
bullet 新闻和经济日历
bullet 技术指标 & 图表
bullet 包括更多工具

通过提供您的电子邮件,您同意 FP Markets 的隐私政策,并同意接收 FP Markets 未来的营销材料。您可以随时取消订阅。





Sitemap | © FP Markets 2020



Get instant Updates in Telegram

CFDs Trading

CFDs Trading
What are CFDs?

What is CFD
Trading and How
Does it Work?

CFDs or (Contract for Difference or Contracts for Difference) are a popular form of derivative instruments. Derivatives are financial instruments that allow you to trade an asset in the global markets without actually owning it. Common examples of derivative instruments are options, futures or swaps.

With CFDs you don’t have ownership of the actual assets. Rather, you exchange the price difference of the underlying asset, from the time that the contract was opened to when it is closed. This closing date or contract expiry date is not fixed, making CFDs different from other forms of derivatives, like futures. Your contract can be for the short term or continue for the long term

One advantage of trading CFDs is that you can speculate on price movements in any direction, up or down. The gain or loss that you make will depend on whether your forecast pans out. With CFDs, you can trade a large variety of assets, including currencies, equities, indices, cryptocurrencies (including bitcoin) and commodities.

It is necessary to understand how CFDs work before trying your hand at it.

Video: CFD Trading
Explained

How Do CFDs Work?

To understand the whole process, you need to first know the concept of margin trading. Leveraged CFDs allow you to gain wide exposure to price movements, without needing to invest the total trade value. This means that leverage allows you to gain wider exposure to the market than what you could have done with the capital in your trading account.

Trade CFDs - What is
CFD Margin?

When you start trading CFDs, you will need to open a “margin account,” preferably with a regulated broker. The broker will allow you to trade larger positions, by offering leverage. This means that you get the opportunity to magnify your earnings, with a small capital investment from your end. However, remember that leverage can also magnify losses. So, choose your leverage wisely.

To maintain your margin account, a fixed minimum amount of capital has to be present in the account at all times, to serve as a cushion against potential losses. This is known as the “initial margin” or “deposit margin.” It is the difference between the funds you borrow from your broker and the full trade value of your position.

In case you incur losses, and the capital in your account is depleted below the required level, the broker will issue a “margin call.” This means that you will need to deposit the required amount in your account, known as the “maintenance margin.”

Suppose the shares of XYZ Company are trading at $130 per share. You decide to buy 10,000 units of a contract at this price. Now, if you had to pay the total value of this contract, it would cost you:

$130 x 10,000 = $130,000.

By using leverage, you can gain exposure to the same number of shares, but with a lower capital investment. If the required margin is 5% of the total trade value, you will be required to pay only $6.50 per CFD unit, in your trading account as margin.

So, your total margin requirement will be
(0.05 x 130,000) = $6,500.

This is significantly less than $130,000 but you get the same level of exposure, as if you had bought the shares directly. Plus, you are entitled to 100% of the gains. On the other hand, you will also bear 100% of any losses.

This margin percentage will depend on the country from where your trade. Different regulatory bodies have different limits for leverage. These limits have been put in place to protect traders against significant losses during time of heightened volatility.

Going “Long” or “Short”
in CFD Trading

When you trade CFDs, you can speculate on whether the market prices will move up or down. If you believe that the prices will rise in the future, you buy the underlying asset or “go long.” But, if you think that prices will decline in future, you sell the asset, or “go short.” You still get to exchange the difference between prices at open and close, but you get a chance to benefit from declining prices as well

An Example of
Leveraged CFD Trading

Suppose you want to trade CFDs, where the underlying asset is the US30, known as the ‘’Dow Jones Industrial Average Index. ” Let us suppose that the US30 is trading at:

Bid/Ask Spread

Now, “bid” is the selling price. This is what you sell the asset at. The higher of the two is the “ask price” or buy price; the rate at which you buy the asset. The difference between these two prices is the “spread.” This is your cost of trading. Depending on how liquid your asset is and your choice of broker, the spread can be tight or wide. For instance, a broker can source quotes from a large pool of liquidity providers to offer you the tightest bid/ask spreads.

Now, getting back to the trade, you decide to buy 5 contracts of US30 because you think that the US30 price will rise in the future. Your margin rate is 1% . This means that you need to deposit 1% of the total position value into your margin account.

In the next hour, if the price moves to 22100.00/22112.00, you have a winning trade. You could close your position by selling at the current (bid) price of US30 which is 22100.00

In this case, the price moved in your favor. But, had the price declined instead, moving against your prediction, you could have made a loss. This continuous evaluation of price movements and resultant profit/loss happens daily. Accordingly, it leads to a net return (positive/negative) on your initial margin. In the loss scenario where your free equity, (account balance+ Profit/Loss) falls below the margin requirements (1105), the broker will issue a margin call. If you fail to deposit the money, and the market moves further against you, when your free equity reaches the 50% of your initial margin the contract will be closed at the current market price, known as the “stop out.”

Notice how a small difference in price can offer opportunities to trade? This small difference is known as “pip” or “percentage in point.” For Indices, 1 pip is equal to a price increment of 1.0 which is also called an Index point. In the forex market, like in the above example, it is used to denote the smallest price increment in the price of a currency. For assets like the AUD/USD, which include the US Dollar, a pip is represented up to the 4th decimal place. But, in case of pairs that include the Japanese Yen, like the AUD/JPY, the quote is usually up to 3 decimal places.

This continuous evaluation of price movements and resultant profit/loss happens daily. Accordingly, it leads to a net return (positive/negative) on your initial margin. In case your initial margin is lower, the broker will issue a margin call. If you fail to deposit the money, the contract will be closed at the current market price. This process is known as “marking to market.”

If the price
of US30
To You Could Gain or Lose
(for a long position)
Rises by +1% 22300.80/ 22312.80 USD 1044.00
Declines by -1% 21859.20/ 21871.20 USD -1164.00

How to Hedge
Using CFDs?

Now, “bid” is the selling price. This is what you sell the asset at. The higher of the two is the “ask price” or buy price; the rate at which you buy the asset. The difference between these two prices is the “spread.” This is your cost of trading. Depending on how liquid your asset is and your choice of broker, the spread can be tight or wide. For instance, a broker can source quotes from a large pool of liquidity providers to offer you the tightest bid/ask spreads.

A significant advantage of CFD trading is the opportunities to hedge your portfolio against short-term market volatility, within an existing position. Hedging is a strategy you can use when you want to invest to protect against downside risks. You can also limit your gains to do this.

So, let’s say you have an equity portfolio worth AUD 150,000, consisting of prominent shares on the ASX 200 index. These are split up in 10 tranches of AUD 15,000 each. You could own AUD 15,000 worth of Adelaide Brighton shares and AUD 15,000 worth of ANZ Banking Group Ltd.

Now, if you believe that both these companies might suffer a short-term dip in share price, due to a bad earnings report, you could offset some of the potential loss by going short on them through a CFD.

Instead of selling these shares in the open market, you assume two CFD short positions in Adelaide Brighton and ANZ Banking Group Ltd. About 10% of the market exposure, which is AUD 3,000, could be required to set up this hedge.

But, why choose a CFD short rather than simply selling the shares and buying them again later, after the price drops? The reason to choose the CFD route could be:

  • You will attract capital gains when you sell your shares, which is taxable. This will be unnecessary, unless you want to get rid of these assets once and for all. In CFDs, you won’t need to pay stamp duty and trading costs will be limited to margin and spread.

  • If the market does go downwards, the losses in your equity portfolio will be offset by your short CFD positions.

Hold Period

Now, after the market closes each day, any CFD position open in your account could incur holding costs. This depends on the applicable holding rate, as well as the direction of your position; based on which the cost can be negative or positive. The holding cost is one of the costs of trading CFDs.

Start Trading Forex with a
Global Regulated Broker

How Do You Start
Trading CFDs?

Take a look at these
6 steps to start trading CFDs:

Step 1 |
Build Your Knowledge

If you have reached this point, you are already on Step 1. Knowledge will be your biggest asset and you should look to learn as much as you can about CFDs and how to trade them. This includes understanding basic trading terms and concepts along with how to use our advanced online trading platforms. FP Markets Traders Hub Blog is an excellent resource centre that has an array of research and education material.

Step 2 |
Open an FP Markets
Trading Account

Register and open a Demo Account or Live Account with a regulated CFD broker such as FP Markets. Established in 2005, we know that traders are seeking an exceptional trading experience and deliver on their needs by focusing on several key areas. They are:

  • Tight spreads: Spreads on major currency pairs regularly start from as low as 0.0 pips courtesy of relationships with top-tier liquidity providers.

  • Fast Execution: Our trade servers in the NY4 Centre are connected via fibre optics to our ECN network and liquidity providers. This ensures ultra-fast execution and low latency.

  • Advanced Technology: Our strength in the tech space is one of the reasons why we provide the ideal conditions for people that use automated trading strategies such as Expert Advisors (EAs) and copy trading systems.

  • Products: At FP Markets you can trade CFDs across Forex, Shares, Metals, Indices, Commodities & Cryptocurrencies. We offer 10,000+ tradable CFD products across global financial markets on desktop and mobile. Read more about What You Can Trade.

  • Customer Service: We pride ourselves on offering award-winning customer support. Our dedicated multilingual customer support team is available 24/5. Contact us using a variety of methods including Live Chat, Phone and Email.

Step 3 |
Create a Trading Strategy

CFDs can offer you exposure to numerous asset classes, all from a single trading platform. When creating a trading plan there are several factors that should be considered including:

  • Asset class you wish to trade

  • Trading capital

  • Time commitment

  • Risk appetite

  • Trading experience

Having a proper trading plan and sticking to it is essential for maintaining discipline and implementing good real-time risk management strategies. FP Markets offers a range of Trading eBooks and Webinars that can help you develop a trading plan best suited to you.

Step 4 |
Fundamental and Technical
Analysis

By conducting market analysis traders are able to identify volatile markets and potential trading opportunities. There are two approaches to analysing the market, Fundamental Analysis and Technical Analysis. Fundamental analysis relates to geo-political events, economic data releases and breaking news events that may impact global financial markets.

In contrast, technical analysis involves using market data to identify trends and make trading decisions. Through the use of technical indicators, you can make informed decisions about potential price trends and patterns in the future. Trading platforms such as MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 include pre-installed indicators and charting tools that can help conduct comprehensive market analysis.

Step 5 |
Choose Your Trading Platform

Choice is one of the major benefits of trading with FP Markets. Our trading platform range includes MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, Iress and our very own FP Markets Mobile Trading App. Choose a platform that gives you flexibility and stability in trading. All of our trading platforms provide a wide range of tools that can be used to conduct market analysis and execute trades seamlessly.

Step 6 |
Risk Management

Risk management is essential for every trade, no matter the market conditions or the position size. To restrict potential losses, here are some tools you can use:

Stop Loss Order: A smart placement of a stop loss order will allow the system to automatically close your position when the market reaches a certain price level. This can minimise losses when the market moves in an unfavourable direction.

Take Profit: This order closes out your position once you have gained a specific level of profit. This protects your positions from unnecessary market risk.

Trailing Stops:This moves your stop-loss further, if the market goes in your favour, but as soon as the market reverses, it closes the position. This order prevents your positions from getting closed too early.

For more in-depth fundamental
and technical analysis plus
trading education, please
visit our Traders Hub blog.

Advantages of CFD
Trading

Wide range of financial markets: CFD trading with FP Markets allows you to access the biggest financial markets from around the world. Our CFD offering consists of 10,000+ tradable instruments across Forex, Shares, Indices, Metals, Commodities and Cryptocurrencies. This includes currency pairs such at the USD/AUD along with stocks in some of the world's biggest companies including Apple and Amazon.

Trade in falling markets: One of the unique features of CFD trading is that they provide you with the ability to go 'long' or 'short'. In typical financial markets trading can only take a 'long position' and benefit from rising prices. In contrast, you can open a 'short position' and benefit from declining price movements. This provides traders with additional trading opportunities.

No stamp duty: As you do not own the underlying asset, there is no stamp duty associated with CFD trading. In addition, through the use of leverage, traders are able to make effective use of their capital by gaining greater exposure using margin trading.

Leverage: Offers a cost-efficient way to invest as you only have to deposit a fraction of the trade's full value (margin) to open a position. The margin required varies depending on the instrument, liquidity and other factors.

Effective hedging tool: A significant advantage of CFD trading is its use as a hedging tool. It can be utilised to hedge your portfolio against short-term market volatility within an existing position. Hedging is a strategy that CFD traders use rather than selling holdings in other instruments that may have associated tax implications.

Mirror trading the underlying market: CFDs are designed to mirror the trading environment, including prices, of their underlying market. Buying an Amazon share CFD is the equivalent of purchasing a single Amazon share that is traded on the NASDAQ.

No fixed expiry: Unlike other derivatives such as options and futures, CFDs do not have an expiry date. You can hold CFDs for as long, or as short, as you want.

CFD Trading - FAQ

There are three figures to consider when it comes to CFD trading - 'Bid', 'Ask' and 'Spread'. 'Bid' (sell) is the sell price which is generally displayed on the left while the 'Ask' (buy) price is the higher of the two and the rate at which you buy the asset. The difference between these two prices is the 'spread' and is the cost of trading. Depending on the liquidity of your asset, the spread can be tight or wide.

Start Trading
in Minutes

Open an account now

bullet Auto open & close positions
bullet News & economic calendar
bullet Technical indicator & charts
bullet Many more tools included

By supplying your email you agree to FP Markets privacy policy and receive future marketing materials from FP Markets. You can unsubscribe at any time.





Sitemap | © FP Markets 2020



Get instant Updates in Telegram